York Factory Representatives Attend Sturgeon Stewardship Committee for the Lower Nelson River

In March 2013, the Lower Nelson River Sturgeon Stewardship Committee was formed. This Committee will take care of sturgeon on the lower Nelson River from the Kelsey Generating Station to the Nelson River estuary.

Members of this Committee include: York Factory First Nation, Tataskweyak Cree Nation, War Lake First Nation, Fox Lake Cree Nation, Shamattawa First Nation, Manitoba Hydro, the Keeyask Hydropower Limited Partnership, and Manitoba Conservation and Water Stewardship.

Chief and Council have selected Darcy Wastesicoot as its voting representative and Stanley Spence as its alternate representative. These representatives attended the Committee’s first meeting in Thompson on May 23rd, 2013, and the second meeting in Winnipeg on August 1st, 2013.

You can contact Darcy Wastesicoot at YFFD (204-341-2236) or Stanley Spence for more information.